2015 Judges

Judges — PANZ Book Design Awards 2015

The judges for the 2015 PANZ Book Design Awards are Creative Director Cameron Gibb (convener), international guest judge and Scribe Art Director Miriam Rosenbloom, Media Executive Vincent Heeringa and 2014 PANZ Young Designer of the Year Kalee Jackson.

Cameron Gibb

Convening judge Cameron Gibb has been refining his design skills over a 24-year career, working in both London and Auckland as a graphic designer and as a creative director running his own company, neudesign[graphic], for the last 18 years. Gibb’s book design highlights include international best-selling titles for Nelson Mandela and Archbishop Desmond Tutu. His awards include the Communication Arts Award of Excellence for book design in 2008, 2009 and 2011. He is also a previous winner of the PANZ Book Design Awards with Best Illustrated, Best Educational and Best Book awards to his name.

Miriam Rosenbloom_cropped

Miriam Rosenbloom has been working as a book cover designer for over a decade. In 2005, Miriam was awarded Young Designer of the Year at the Australian Publishers Association Book Design Awards. Shortly afterwards she moved to London where she worked freelance and in-house for a number of publishers including a long stint as a senior designer at Faber & Faber. In 2010, she was a member of the Book Design jury for the D&AD awards in the UK. Miriam returned to Melbourne in 2011 and took up the role of Art Director at Scribe. In 2014 she was awarded ‘Best Series Design’ at the inaugural Australian Book Design Association awards. Her book designs have been featured in print and online publications around the world. Much of Miriam’s work references her interest in textiles and print-making.

Vincent Heeringa photo._smalljpg

Vincent Heeringa is one of New Zealand’s leading business commentators and publishers. A former journalist with Metro and The Independent, Vincent was the founding editor of Unlimited magazine and is currently a director of Tangible Media, the publisher behind such well-known brands as Idealog, Stoppress, Dish and Good. He was the founding chair of the Science Media Centre and a frequent technology and business commentator on radio and television.


Kalee Jackson is an independent designer based in Auckland. She was the winner of the PANZ Young Designer of the Year Award 2014. For the past four years she has designed books and book covers for Te Tuhi Centre for the Arts, Govett-Brewster Art Gallery, Te Papa Press, Mangere Arts Centre – Ngā Tohu o Uenuku, City Gallery Wellington, and Auckland University Press. From 2005 to 2011 she was the graphic designer for Govett-Brewster Art Gallery, New Plymouth, where she worked on art books and exhibition catalogues. Prior to that she worked as a publication designer in Wellington and London, after graduating from Massey University with a Bachelor of Design (Hons).

PANZ employs a strict conflict of interest policy and throughout the judging process no judge is permitted to comment on or vote for his or her own work.